top of page

Doug's New Book

At the graduate schools in University of Tsukuba, where late professor Kazuo Kimura was my supervisor for 8 years, I worked under five Canadian visiting professors including three Dougs--Doug Francis, Doug Baldwin, and Doug McCalla. It was great I could study under them as well as Brook Taylor and Philip Buckner, though I just audited Buckner-sensei's classes.

When our family went to Edmonton for my sabbatical in 2010-2011, we could visit two Dougs. They were very kind hosts to our family in Calgary (Doug and Barbara Francis) and at Stoney Lake in Ontario (Doug and Anna McCalla). The latter Doug recently published another history book titled Consumers in the Bush from McGill-Queen's University Press, and kindly sent it to us. I still have not finished reading it, and I could not send my thank-you letter to him yet, but we do appreciate him to mention our names at Acknowledgement of the book, saying, "...thanks to the warmth of welcome by colleagues, neighbours, and students (notably Toshihiro and Reiko Tanaka, and Aya Fujiwawara, exemplary guides and mentors then, friends and colleagues since...)" It was a heartwarming moment to read. Thank you very much, Doug!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page