top of page

Vancouver, February 2016


From Feb. 20 to Feb. 25, I was in Vancouver.

It was a kind of business trip to visit Langara College, where Reitaku University sends our students each semester. Since last year, I have been assigned to take care of this exchange program with Langara, and my trip was to see the college and the programs they offer to our students. I also visited some other institutions and companies in consideration of our future exchange programs.

Mr. Jun Sato and others at JAN-Link, who now help us taking care of our students' homestay etc., helped me very much. They took me to Langara, UBC, VIC, and, actually, from and to the airport, too. I feel I owe them very much. We enjoyed discussing varieties of things. Among the topics were the new exchange programs--like, making our English-major Chinese-submajor students stay with Chinese Canadian families, offering Chinese buddies at school as well, and visiting Chinatown both in downtown and Richmond. It will be a unique opportunity to our students experiencing the North American Chinese community as well as the English environment in Vancouver. Hoping we can realize such a facsinating program.

As a researcher of Canadian Studies, it is shame I couldn't visit Canada for 5 years since coming back from Edmonton in the summer of 2011. Literally, I was too busy for university administration works in the recent few years. And this was a great opportunity for me to refresh myself.

Unfortunately, I had almost no time to do my own research, but it was great I could be there even for a short while. The highlight of my trip was, personally, the opportunity to talk to Dr. Stephen Phillips, a political scinentist in Langara. It was fun drinking with Dr. and Mrs. Stephen Phillips: from the conversation, I could learn a lot about Canadian political situation today.

Well, I believe I will revisit Canada soon (hopefully in a few years), and looking forward to it!

(The photos are: Coal Harbor [above], Sun Yat-Sen Chinese Park, JAN-Link Office, Nikkei Place and Suzuya in Burnaby, Nikkei Heritage Centre next to Suzuya, and the view from the 6th floor of Vancouver Public Library.)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
まだタグはありません。
bottom of page